On Wednesday, Sokoto State House of Assembly confirmed the appointment of four new commissioners sent by Gov. Aminu Tambuwal. The confirmation followed a motion moved by the House Leader, Alhaji Garba Bello after the screening of the nominees by the committee of the whole.


Alhaji Garba Bello said, “the persons so recommended for the appointment are persons of proven integrity and dedication and had served the state and the nation in various capacities. “The nominees would assist the state Governor in discharging his statutory responsibility and serve as members of the executive council to support the government achieve its desired goal.” He said the confirmation was in line with the provision of Section 14, subsection 4 of the 1999 Constitution. The Speaker Alhaji Salihu Maidaji, who presided over the plenary session, subjected the motion to voting and there was absolute agreement by the lawmakers. The appointed commissioners are Prof. Aisha Madawaki, Alhaji Ahmad Barade, Alhaji Garba Tsitse and Alhaji Bello Ambarura.



Photo Credit: 

Related Content